B2Rss: high student debt and no jobs! WTH

marți, 17 ianuarie 2012

high student debt and no jobs! WTH

Hey Fellows,

Kyle here...today I want to chat with you about education prices.

I don't know about you, but when I went to college it came with a very high price tag.  I believe it was just over $12,000 for a 2.5 year diploma taking a computer science course.

And that was cheaper than University!

Yes, it was a good education, but was it really worth $12,000.  I got thinking about this...

What do you pay for when you go to school?

Tuition is a huge expense, and this typically covers the teachers and the facility.  Yes, it does cost money to operate a school.  However, a college or university is a business and they are all about "earning money".  So, obviously their costs are WAY lower than the costs to run.

In fact, some of these University's are publicly traded and after the teachers, administration and working staff are paid out their high wages (don't forget the Dean of every department), they are on average 16-20% in the net profit.

Here is an example stock of public educational corporation Devry Inc:

http://www.google.com/finance?q=NYSE%3ADV

And don't forget about your books.  Geez, I remember walking to the book store with a heavy wallet and walking out feeling violated.  I was paying upwards of $200 for a book that I likely would not even open as all the training was online.  But guess what, this book was REQUIRED...meaning in order to take the course, I had to have it. 

Another cash grab.

And then there is residence, food, travel, parking...the list goes on and on.  Before you know it, your "extra" expenses on top of your education can easily amount to another $10,000 per year.

I was reading a report the other day stating the average 4 year education is a minimum of $20,000...and that is on the low end.  For what?

An awesome job waiting for you?

Not usually.  Maybe if you work your butt of and send out 100 resumes to every employer in town, you might start of at a Newbie Pay Level, or $40,000 per year.

However, if you went straight into the work force instead of getting educated, you would have a 4 year advantage over someone else.  I know first hand as an employer that we hire based on "experience" not "education".

A bunch of newly acquired knowledge? 

I guess to some degree.  

I can honestly say that after I finished school I had forgotten 90% of what was taught to me within the 1st year...and I also didn't utilize 90% of what was taught to me!  Also, every single exam becomes a "cram exam" and by this I mean, you cram knowledge (and a bunch of coffee) into your brain the night before you are tested...and then this info is deleted from your brain the next day after the exam.

Applied knowledge?

Not really...

Most schools put there emphasis on theoretical knowledge.  It is like trying to learn how to play basketball from a book.   It doesn't happen.  You become good once you apply your knowledge, ie, once you finish school and get a job.  

So, in theory, in order to become good, you need to finish school first.  I can 100% guarantee you that if you spent 4 years in a job, you would be way further ahead in skill level, experience, and common sense knowledge than someone that was doing the same study in school for 4 years.

A piece of paper?

Now we are onto something.  When you graduate you have a piece of paer to hang on your wall. Yeah, that is about it.  I left college with a piece of friggin' paper.

No high paying job.  No career in place.  And really, I did not feel like I had acquired a skill just yet as I had not been put in the real world, with real experienced people.

So, I paid $12,000 and invested 2.5 years of my time into school only to come out with a feeling of "uncertainty" and "being under prepared".  And this was a more affordable education...some of the programs I was looking at were closer to $12,000 per year!

What I did do WHILE I was in school, is what prepared me for where I am at today.  I started working on my own Internet marketing business in the first year of school...and as you may have heard from some of my writings in the past, on a credit card I borrowed from my girlfriend.

By year 2 of school I was earning more than all of my professors and likely more than the Dean of Computer Science.  People were shocked as I pulled up to school in my brand new car and as I paid cash for my tuition fees...apparently something that is not common place for "students".

I left college with no debt because of the fact that I worked on my own business during the time I was in college.  Kind of an oxymoron as apparently you are not supposed to be prepared for the "real world" until you finish school.

Now I ask myself, was that a big waste of time.  Where would I be now if I could get back those 8 hours/day I was at school for the 2.5 years I was there.  Would I be more successful? Would I have helped more people succeed by now?

Conclusively, I fully believe the answer is yes.

The reason I am telling you all of this is because I know the type of education we offer at Wealthy Affiliate and I know how undervalued it is at $47.  I also know how much you will learn and how you will learn a lot of the applied principles that you would even learn in the top Universities around the world.

Within the first couple of months you can start earning money at Wealthy Affiliate.  For some people this is much quicker, for some a bit slower...but you get the point.

It does not take 4 years of education before you can earn a substantial amount of income.

In fact, by my 6th month online I was earning $10K per month and I think the opportunities online now are equivalent to, if not greater then when I started!

So, there you have it.  We are offering our training, tools, support and services, 1-on-1 coaching, and live interaction at WA.  Our Internet marketing education is better than any University can provide out there...why?

Because it is based on our experience, not a textbook.

We teach what works.  We know what works.  And YOU will be able to learn and IMPLEMENT what works.

This will be the most affordable education of your life.  You could become a member at WA for 4 years for under $2000....not $40,000 and you can do it from the comfort of yoru own home, a coffee shop, or while on vacation. Think about it!  Join today...you will be impressed.

===> http://www.WealthyAffiliate.com

Cheers,

Kyle
Wealthy Affiliate
www.wealthyaffiliate.com


Niche Marketing Inc.
P.O Box 13243 549 Michigan St.
Victoria, BC
Canada

To unsubscribe or change subscriber options visit:
http://www.aweber.com/z/r/?TKwcHJyctKxMLJwMDIwstGa0bEycDAzMjA==

Niciun comentariu:

Trimiteți un comentariu